I made money today

Standard

I worked on some AFS stuff for about 2 hours today and it was immensely satisfying to do work and know I was earning some money. I know it’s not exactly the spirit of traveling, but sitting in the euro cafe working on all the applications I used in Portland makes China seem hardly foreign at all. It’s nice, so nice.

The owner of the cafe is a Chinese national that lived in San Diego for a number of years. She’s leaving in a week or so to go to the US for 2 weeks. They’re going to drive all the way up 101 from San Diego to Vancouver. I’ve never done that but always thought it would be the awesomest way to see the west coast. Don’t you think it would be better to take 3 or 4 weeks, though?

Anyhoo, we got the nice apartment, but are realizing how dirty it is (it’s just been entirely remodeled, but it appears to have not been cleaned up during the process – dusty). Also, we have to buy pots, pans, towels, rugs, etc.. Everything you need to make a place a home, but it seems silly to spend all the money to use this stuff for s year.

OK, I’m off to try to find a Mandarin School. I’m ready to start trying to understand all the jabberwocky round me. Love to all!

OH! And Leif’s baby is Daniel Christopher Webb and he’s beautiful. And tiny!

Leave a Reply

