Today

Standard

I’m at the tail end of a pretty darn nasty headache this morning and that’s a relief. Yesterday was Jesse’s day off, which means it’s not a day we want to just sit around, but the longer the day went, the worse I felt. Sometimes all I want to do is lay down, but I just hate giving up and giving in. I never took anything for this headache, some stubborn part of me wants to stop relying on ibuprofin and soldier on through.

I have a little exam today, “for fun”, in my Chinese class and the competitive part of me is angry that I haven’t studied enough, don’t know the vocabulary, and won’t be the best in the class. Humph. I was having fun learning Chinese until this whole test thing. I tried studying yesterday and it was just frustrating and made my head worse. Grump.

I finished a new book this morning, Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler. It was good, absorbing, but a bit unfulfilling in the end. Now, don’t get me wrong, it was good, but it won a Pulitzer and I have to say, I’m not sure why. It didn’t seem to break new ground or smash stereotypes or even make me think a whole lot. It was a lovely story, though.

I started a new book today, the cheapest one at the store, and it’s, ta da, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants! I’m looking forward to reading a bit of nonsense, actually. I’m trying to get over my shame at reading girly books and this includes admitting when I do. So there! I’m going to update my books read list and also would like to give a shout out to Mary, Heidi and Erin, who have all said they’ll see of they read 52 books a year. I’m sure we all do.

Did you all check out those pictures linked to on flickr on that sidebar over there? I added some of Jesse and I about town, and some food pictures, including our less than spectacular “thanksgiving turkey”. There are also a few shots of that old Chinese canal town I visited.

OK, that’s all, bye~

Leave a Reply

